About

  
Bringing peace, justice, and environmental groups and individuals together since 1985

Since its founding in 1985, Maryland United for Peace and Justice (MUPJ) has provided networking, communication and support to groups and individuals working in Maryland towards a world with lasting peace, social justice and a sustainable environment.

MUPJ, a 501(c)(4) non-profit, is a statewide networking organization which tries to network between the many groups and individuals working for peace, justice and a clean environment in a world which uses nonviolent means of conflict resolution, moves toward sustainable energy and development and is fair and just to all humans and the earth.

MUPJ was started following a statewide call to Maryland peace groups in the fall of 1985 by Jesse Aiken, a Maryland peace activist.  It was agreed that the groups wanted a monthly calendar of events, a state resource guide, and a yearly peace and justice conference.  Our first statewide conference was held in April 1986.  MUPJ, Inc. was formed to address the need for greater coordination, networking and communication among the many groups and individuals concerned with peace and justice, as well as the annual conference and the calendar of events.

MD United for Peace and Justice-Institute for Positive Action (MUPJ-IPA) is a non-profit 501(c)(3) with the purpose of education and information concerning current issues of importance to those working for peace and justice. Tax-deductible donations can be made to the MUPJ Institute for Positive Action at the address on the front.

We conducted the annual Peace, Justice and Environment Conference, rotating its location around the state. We now offer workshops on a variety of subjects about every two months and hold Summits which connect and empower groups and individuals working on peace, justice and environment issues.

The organizations listed below carry out a wide range of activities to bring about progressive change in our state and many also participate in and/or support MUPJ activities. “S” indicates groups that participated in the November 2014 MUPJ Summit and “C” indicates co-sponsors of the May 2015 MUPJ Conference.* (If we inadvertently omitted your group from this list, please let our webmaster know: bahram@greens.org

Check out their websites to learn more about the vital goals and work of these MUPJ members and partners!

 

A-C

Adelphi Friends Meeting (S, C) www.adelphifriends.org

American Friends Service Committee (AFSC), Middle Atlantic Region https://afsc.org

Baltimore Ethical Society (C) http://baltimoreethicalsociety.org/

Baltimore Quaker Peace and Justice (C) http://www.stonyrunfriends.org/srcms/content/baltimore-quaker-peace-justice

Benjamin Peace Foundation (C) http://www.guidestar.org/organizations/52-2183293/benjamin-peace-foundation.aspx

Bethesda Friends Meeting (C) www.bethesdafriends.org/

Charm City Labor Chorus (S) www.charmcitylaborchorus.org

Committee for Palestine Rights, Howard County (C) http://washingtonpeacecenter.org/node/12146

Criminal Justice Policy Foundation www.cjpf.org/

Cyprus Friendship Program (C) http://cyprusfriendship.org/

 

D-L

Democracy Alliance www.democracyalliance.org

Divine Word Missionaries (S) http://www.svdmissions.org/

Frederick Peace Center http://frederickpeace.org

Friends Committee on National Legislation (S) www.fcnl.org

Fund our Communities, Not the Pentagon (C) http://www.ourfunds.org/

Get Money Out – Maryland (S) www.getmoneyoutmd.org

Global Coalition for Peace http://www.globalcoalitionforpeace.net/

Global Consciousness Press (S, C) www.gcpweb.org

Howard County Friends of Latin America (C) www.friendsoflatinamerica.org

Jewish Community Council of Greater Washington www.jcouncil.org/

Just Kids http://justkidsmaryland.org

Little Friends for Peace (S, C) www.LFFP.org

M-P

Maryland Committee to Amend (S, C) www.marylandamend.org

Maryland Conservation Council (C) http://mdconservationcouncil.org

Maryland Green Party (C) www.mdgreens.org

NAACP, Prince George’s County (S) www.naacppgc.org

Paint Branch Unitarian Universalist Church Social Action Committee (C) www.pbuuc.org

Pax Christi, Metro DC (S, C) www.paxchristimetrodc.org

Pax Christi, Baltimore (S, C) www.paxchristibaltimore.org

Peace Action Anne Arundel County (C) http://www.mdpeaceaction.org/pages/contactus.htmt

Peace Action Howard County (C) http://www.peace-action.org/affiliates#Maryland

Peace Action Montgomery County (S, C) www.peaceactionmc.org

People for Change Coalition, http://www.pfccoalition.org

Prince George’s County Peace and Justice Coalition (PGPJC) (S, C) http://www.justpeace-pgmd.org/

Prince George’s County Commission for Individuals with Disabilities (S) http://www.princegeorgescountymd.gov/sites/Family/About/BoardsCommissions/IndividualsDisabilities/Pages/default.aspx

Progressive Cheverly (S, C) www.progressivecheverly.org

Progressive Maryland (S) www.progressivemaryland.org/

S-Y

Unitarian Universalists for Social Justice http://uusj.net/

Washington Catholic Archdiocese Justice and Advocacy Councils, Prince George’s County (S) http://stjanedechantal.org/ministries/parish-and-civic-ministries/justice-advocacy-councils

Washington Peace Center www.washingtonpeacecenter.org/

Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom (WILPF) Washington, D.C. Branch (S, C) www.wilpfus.org

Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom (WILPF) Baltimore Branch (S, C) www.wilpfus.org

Youth Leadership Support Network http://www.worldyouth.org