About

 

  
Bringing peace, justice, and environmental groups and individuals together since 1985

Since its founding in 1985, Maryland United for Peace and Justice (MUPJ) has provided networking, communication and support to groups and individuals working in Maryland towards a world with lasting peace, social justice and a sustainable environment.

MUPJ, a 501(c)(4) corporation, is a statewide organization that connects groups and individuals working for peace, justice, and a safe environment.  MUPJ’s goal is cooperation among peace, justice and environmental groups for the purposes of mutual support and more effective coordinated actions.

MUPJ was started following a statewide call to Maryland peace groups in the fall of 1985 by Jesse Aiken, a Maryland peace activist.  It was agreed that the groups wanted a monthly calendar of events, a state resource guide, and a yearly peace and justice conference.  Our first statewide conference was held in April 1986.  MUPJ, Inc. was formed to address the need for greater coordination, networking and communication among the many groups and individuals concerned with peace and justice, as well as the annual conference and the calendar of events.

MD United for Peace and Justice-Institute for Positive Action (MUPJ-IPA) is a non-profit 501(c)(3) with the purpose of education and information concerning current issues of importance to those working for peace and justice. Tax-deductible donations can be made to the MUPJ Institute for Positive Action at the address on the front.

We conducted the annual Peace, Justice and Environment Conference, rotating its location around the state. We now offer workshops on a variety of subjects every quarter and hold Summits which connect and empower groups and individuals working on peace, justice and environment issues.

The organizations listed below carry out a wide range of activities to bring about progressive change in our state and many also participate in and/or support MUPJ activities. “S” indicates groups that participated in the November 2014 MUPJ Summit and “C” indicates co-sponsors of the May 2015 MUPJ Conference.* (If we inadvertently omitted your group from this list, please let our co-webmaster know: rdbtenor@gmail.com

Check out their websites to learn more about the vital goals and work of these MUPJ members and partners!

A-C

Adelphi Friends Meeting (S, C) www.adelphifriends.org Contact Will Kastens 240-606-9002

American Friends Service Committee (AFSC), Middle Atlantic Region https://afsc.org Has two Baltimore affiliates: Friend of a Friend https://www.afsc.org/program/friend-friend-program

Dominque Stevenson 240-707-0110

 

American Friends Service Committee

Suite 212
3600 Clipper Mill Rd.
Baltimore, MD, 21211

Baltimore Ethical Society (C) http://baltimoreethicalsociety.org/

Contact

Snail Mail and Calls
Our mailing address is 306 W Franklin St #102, Baltimore, MD 21201. All calls should be directed to 410-581-2322.

E-Mail
For general inquiries, please email ask@bmorethical.org.

You can email our administrator, Stephen Meskin, at admin@bmorethical.org.
You can email our president, Paul Furth, at president@bmorethical.org.

Baltimore Quaker Peace and Justice (C) http://www.stonyrunfriends.org/srcms/content/baltimore-quaker-peace-justice

www.facebook.com/BQPJC

Contact 5116 N. Charles St., Baltimore, MD 21210 Phone: (443) 703-2590, Email: sroffice@StonyRunFriends.org

Benjamin Peace Foundation (C) http://www.guidestar.org/organizations/52-2183293/benjamin-peace-foundation.aspx Contact Ron Benjamin ron_benjamin@hotmail.com

Bethesda Friends Meeting (C) www.bethesdafriends.org/

Bridges Not Walls – Cheverly https://www.facebook.com/bridgesnotwallscheverly/

Contact Joani Horchler

Charm City Labor Chorus (S) www.charmcitylaborchorus.org Contact Marilyn Julius marilynkjulius@gmail.com

Committee for Palestine Rights, Howard County (C) http://washingtonpeacecenter.org/node/12146

Criminal Justice Policy Foundation www.cjpf.org/

Cyprus Friendship Program (C) http://cyprusfriendship.org/

D-L

Democracy Alliance www.democracyalliance.org

Divine Word Missionaries (S) http://www.svdmissions.org/

Frederick Peace Center http://frederickpeace.org

Friends Committee on National Legislation (S) www.fcnl.org Contact Theo Sitther theo@fcnl.org

Fund our Communities, Not the Pentagon (C) http://www.ourfunds.org/ Contact Jean Athey jeanathey@verizon.net

Get Money Out – Maryland (S) www.getmoneyoutmd.org Contact Charlie Cooper Charlie.coop47@gmail.com

Global Coalition for Peace http://www.globalcoalitionforpeace.net/

Global Consciousness Press (S, C) www.gcpweb.org

Howard County Friends of Latin America (C) www.friendsoflatinamerica.org Leslie Salgado cuba_is_hope@comcast.net

Jewish Community Council of Greater Washington www.jcouncil.org/

Just Kids http://justkidsmaryland.org

Little Friends for Peace (S, C) www.LFFP.org Mary Parks mjpeace@gmail.com

M-P

Maryland Conservation Council (C) http://mdconservationcouncil.org

Contact

Mailing Address

2304 South Road
Baltimore, MD 21209-4430

Email: mdconservationcouncil@yahoo.com

Maryland Green Party (C) www.mdgreens.org Contact Bahram Zandi bahram@greens.org

NAACP, Prince George’s County (S) www.naacppgc.org Contact Bob Ross bobross32@gmail.com

Paint Branch Unitarian Universalist Church Social Action Committee (C) www.pbuuc.org

Contact 3215 Powder Mill Road • Adelphi, Maryland 20783-1097
301-937-3666 • Fax: 301-937-3667 • churchadmin@pbuuc.orgwebmaster@pbuuc.org

Pax Christi, Metro DC (S, C) www.paxchristimetrodc.org

Contact Catherine Rotterman
rottermanc2@gmail.com

Pax Christi, Baltimore (S, C) www.paxchristibaltimore.org

Contact Chuck Michaels
mail@paxchristibaltimore.org

Peace Action Anne Arundel County (C) http://www.mdpeaceaction.org/pages/contactus.htmt

Peace Action Howard County (C) http://www.peace-action.org/affiliates#Maryland

People for Change Coalition, http://www.pfccoalition.org

Prince George’s County Peace and Justice Coalition (PGPJC) (S, C) http://www.justpeace-pgmd.org/ Contact Donna Hoffmeister donna.hoffmeister@vrizon.net

Prince George’s County Commission for Individuals with Disabilities (S) http://www.princegeorgescountymd.gov/sites/Family/About/BoardsCommissions/IndividualsDisabilities/Pages/default.aspx

Progressive Cheverly (S, C) www.progressivecheverly.org

Progressive Maryland (S) www.progressivemaryland.org/ Contact Larry Stafford larry@progressivemaryland.org

S-Y

Unitarian Universalists for Social Justice http://uusj.net/

Washington Catholic Archdiocese Justice and Advocacy Councils, Prince George’s County (S) http://stjanedechantal.org/ministries/parish-and-civic-ministries/justice-advocacy-councils

Washington Peace Center www.washingtonpeacecenter.org/

Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom (WILPF) Washington, D.C. Branch (S, C) www.wilpfus.org

Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom (WILPF) Baltimore Branch (S, C) www.wilpfus.org

Youth Leadership Support Network http://www.worldyouth.org